top of page

Curriculum Mapping

This week I enjoyed a chat on the topic of curriculum mapping. So, I would like to share how mapping could be connected to our blended learning approach. The 2011 paper entitled, "Curriculum Mapping as a Tool for Continuous Improvement of Curriculum" by Veltri, Webb, Matveev and Zapatero share recommendations for use of curriculum mapping in evaluating program learning outcomes (PLO), program design, course design, course implementation, assessment design, and assessment implementation.

The authors integrate a conceptual framework built on the “learning outcomes model” (Tariq et al., 2004), which include five major curriculum -- intended, designed, communicated, enacted and assessed. The sixth step compiles the prior five using quantitative indicators of the: (i) level of intentionality with which the PLOs are presented in syllabi, (ii) weight of PLOs in the curriculum, (iii) degree of PLO assessment focus, and relative contribution of program courses to the development of PLO in terms of (iv) breadth and (v) depth of PLO coverage. The paper suggests how we can use curriculum mapping for on-going curriculum revision and closing the loop between data and actions.

Common Curriculum Map questions include (Jacobs, 2006):

  1. What learning gaps exist in our program?

  2. How can I collaborate to fill it?

  3. How can I ask colleagues what they expect of students who complete my course?

  4. How can I refine my course to best prepare students for subsequent courses?

  5. How do I explain my assumptions of their prior knowledge, skills and dispositions?

  6. What questions/activities can I use to help students connect prior learning?

Perhaps additional questions that we might ask and align when migrating our courses online include (Hargis, Yuan & Wu, 2020):

  1. How have I humanized learning interactions (being present, engaged, empathetic)?

  2. How have I co-created norms for the learning experience?

  3. How am I creating, offering and confirming an authentic learning experience for all learners?

  4. How do I create inclusive, accessible, equal opportunities?

  5. How do I monitor cognitive load, frustration, confusion and offering timely feedback?

  6. How am I attending to potential student anxiety about learning online, and understanding there may be larger challenges that the student is currently facing?

  7. How am I integrating self-regulated learning, self-efficacy and metacognition?

  8. How am I capitalizing on the advantages between synchronous and asynchronous sessions?

REFERENCES

Veltri, N., Webb, H., Matveev, A. & Zapatero, E. (2011). Curriculum mapping as a tool for continuous improvement of IS curriculum. Journal of Information Systems Education, 22(1).

Tariq, V.N., Scott, E.M., Cochrane, A.C., Lee, M., & Ryles, L. (2004), Auditing and mapping key skills within university curricula. Quality Assurance in Education, 12(22), 70-81.

Hargis, J., Yuan, Y., & Wu, T. (2020). Rapid course migration: Comparing the changes of instructor self-efficacy, Glokalde: Global and Local Distance Education Journal, 6(2), 40-57.

Jacobs, H. (2006). Getting Results with Curriculum Mapping. ACSD Publisher. ISBN-13: 0-87120-999-3

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page